Things I Like # 4 – 1990’s Toy Wrestling Rings

So I have been clearing out my Grandma’s garage which our family uses for storage and acts as a family museum. I pack my car full of plastic storage boxes and transporting them back to my own garage. I have discovered quite a lot of my toys from childhood.

WWF & WCW wrestling rings from the early 90's

WWF & WCW wrestling rings from the early 90's

It was the early 90’s and I would watch every VHS WWF video that was released. At this time there were no televised shows as pay TV was still a way off.

The WWF (World Wrestling Federation) is now the WWE (World Wrestling Entertainment) due to World Widlife Federation claiming the WWF trademark.

I had been collecting WWF wrestling figurines for a while. For Christmas (probably 1990) I asked for a ring for Christmas. On Christmas morning I opened the WCW ring which was the only type available in Australia at the time. WCW was a smaller (less popular in Australia) wrestling but at least I had a home for my figurines and the ring had a steel cage and built in spring boards which was nice.

WCW wrestling ring

WCW wrestling ring

It wasn’t until 1992 when we were in LA for a family holiday that I found the WWF ring in a massive Toys’R’Us (an Australian kids heaven as all we had was Toyland & Uncle Pete’s Toys.) With my luggage stocked with a ring and more figurines I returned to Oz satisfied.

WWF wrestling ring

WWF wrestling ring

2 thoughts on “Things I Like # 4 – 1990’s Toy Wrestling Rings

  1. Hi there, unfortunately I sold this a while back via eBay and I think it went for $20 or something ridiculous! Sorry I couldn’t help out on this one. B

Leave a comment